top of page
  • Writer's pictureJessica Yasmin

19 Lessons from 2019




Putting my thoughts in words has always been my form of meditation and after a turbulent 12 months I could use all the zen.

A lot of things are still too raw to write about, however with every kick to the guts i received in 2019, I was able to learn more about myself and the world.

I thought i would kick of the launch of Chonically Jess and 2020 by sharing my list of things I learnt in 2019.


#1. Absence of presence does not equal to absence of love.

#2. Moments with loved ones should always be treasured.

#3. The need to be kinder our body, mind and planet.

#4. Grief comes in waves.

#5. There are still genuine and honest people in this world.

#6. We need to make changes for our world which is calling out for help.

#7. A person is more than their diagnosis/ disease/ job/ label (etc.)

#8. Sometimes you just need to let things go.

#9. You can make your home a safer place using just natural ingredients.

#10. You are not better than anyone else nor is your time more important than anyone else (unless you are an emergency responder doing your thing).

#11. Home isn't a physical place it's in your heart.

#12. Things aren't important unless I create the narrative that they are.

#13. Change isn't about being perfect. It's about wanting to make things better enough you are willing to try.

#14. Happiness isn't what we think it is.

#15. One day memories will be all that is left.

#16. Not to judge someone on their actions without putting yourself in their shoes.

#17. We are all just one member of society but we do make a difference.

#18. We have control of the impact we have on others.

#19. I am stronger than I ever realised.


Some of these things I've always deep down knew but it was 2019 and its events that allowed myself to actually focus in on these important lessons.


What did 2019 teach you?

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page